MUSIC WORLD: Solange Rocks out The Bottom Lounge in Chicago

I’ve been not-so-secretly obsessed with Solange since my first month of this blog. She has been touring small rock clubs and private venues since the earlier part of this year. After a reschedule, she finally made it to Chicago to rock out The Bottom Lounge. Check my full synopsis below.

DSCN1114

I had the pleasure of attending with fellow blogger and friend, Nikki, who was celebrating her birthday. Since we were on time, we decided to grab a drink and some bomb ass chicken fingers at the bar. While there, we overheard that opening act was someone named Roman GianArthur. To say were less than enthused would be an understatement. But we decided to check him out and he was AMAZING!

DSCN1094

He sang, played his guitar, and had everyone in the audience swooning over his falsetto. Prince‘s influence was apparent, so you know I was a fan. He was backed by a beautiful bass player named Isis and a cute drummer named KwikStiks. As a unit, they were amazing. You can here more of his music HERE.

DSCN1107

Then it was time for the main act, Solange. She came out in her usual mixed prints and afro. She belted out songs from her True EP much to the delight of the audience. I was able to capture a short video of her singing “Some Things Never Seem to Fucking Work.” And that is not me singing in the background, for the record. Check it below.

She got the audience hype singing songs like, “Sandcastle Disco,” “Losing You,” “T.O.N.Y.,” and more. She even announced that she recently recorded a video for “Lovers in the Parking Lot.” After finishing a Corona, making a quick outfit change (because it was hot as Hades in there), she also sang a cover of Selena‘s hit “I Could Fall in Love.” I couldn’t capture a video because I was too busy singing along, but it was AMAZING!

IMAG0436

All in all, I had an amazing time! The boyz in the front were losing it for Solange and there was a slight hood moment to my right, but the audience was great and Solange killed it! She helped to create a very memorable night for me. Can’t wait to catch her performance at Pitchfork this summer.

Check out my full gallery of photos below.

About traysay8

Quirky.

Posted on April 17, 2013, in IN CONCERT, music, PERFORMANCES, PHOTOS, videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. At this time I am going to do my breakfast, after having my breakfast coming yet again to read additional news.

  1. Pingback: Bottom Lounge Chicago: Solange Knowles in Ostwald Helgason

Leave a Reply

