MUSIC WORLD: My Review of Meek Mill’s “Dreams and Nightmares” + Download Link

Meek Mill has been bubbling as the new hot artist from Philly for more than a year. After the releases of two successful mixtapes (Dreamchasers 1 &2) and aligning himself with Rick Ross‘ Maybach Music Group, Meek Mill has seen his stardom rise. His debut album, Dreams and Nightmares, is set to hit all retail outlets tomorrow. Ahead of that release, check my review.

Meek had already released his intro to the album and it garnered a lot of buzz. It played off the duality of the project, dreams and nightmares. Yes, he’s still screaming on the mic, but his lyricism shined during the intro. But then everyone hated his debut single, “Young and Getting It” with Kirko Bangz. And that pretty much sums up the album, some hits and some misses. Accompanying him on the ride include Rick Ross, Nas, John Legend, Drake, Wale, Trey Songz, Mary J. Blige, Louie V. Big Sean, Sam Sneak, and 2 Chainz. Whew!

The album sounds exactly what you’d expect from Meek Mill. I’m not sure how that makes you feel, but it’s not exactly a compliment. As I started working on this review, I had the album playing and I didn’t even realize I had gotten through half the album. That’s how unexciting I find it to be. His storytelling is reminiscent of what you would expect from him after listening to his “Dreamchasers” pair of mixtapes. Rick Ross‘ production influence is apparent and he makes no less than three appearances on the album.

The song that looks good on paper, “Maybach Curtains” features Nas, John Legend, and Rick Ross is underwhelming at best. Nas‘ verse is acceptable and reminiscent of his past (a favorite topic of his). But, I would’ve preferred to see him on another track, on another album perhaps. In appreciation for “Dreamchasers 2,” the best tracks on the album are still “Burn” and “Amen.” The album feels and sounds like Maybach Music Group. There’s nothing particularly exciting or fresh on this album. But then there’s “Tony’s Story Pt. 2.” Anyone not familiar with the first one, check it below. Meek Mill is calmer and sharing a cautionary tale, eloquently. The same can be said for part two. I’m a fan.

I don’t know if rappers are listening to Reasonable Doubt before they include Mary J. Blige on their debut albums or something, but Meek Mill has followed Kendrick Lamar with including her on the album. Let’s end this trend here. The rest of the album pretty much continues about the same, blah. The regular release ends with “Real Niggas Come First.” Something about the track is magnetic to me. It’s a good way to end the regular release. But considering no one ever buys the non-deluxe version of the album, the real last track is “Freak Show” which features some guy named Sam Sneak and everyone’s favorite comedian 2 Chainz. The ratchet in me looooves this track. Mention of molly, knob slobbing, vagina and 2 chainz? I rock with it. It doesn’t sound like anything else on the album, but that’s a good thing.

My Overall Rating: 2.5/5… It’s one of the more boring debut albums I’ve ever listened to. I don’t really see myself going back to it. *Pressing play on Dreamchasers 2*

Skippable Tracks: Polo & Shell Tops, Young & Gettin’ It, Who You’re Around

Standout Tracks: Dreams and Nightmares, Tony Story, Pt. 2, Freak Show

If you still want this album after reading this review, you can download it HERE! 

About traysay8

Quirky.

Posted on October 29, 2012, in ALBUM REVIEWS, music, Music Videos, NEW MUSIC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve been waiting on this album since I heard “I’m A Boss” with Rick Ross. The energy Meek brings get me so amped and I’m really enjoying the album. For a while, I asked myself was I being biased as far as how I rate the album. Dreams & Nightmares is everything I expected it be. It has a dark and gloomy feel throughout the album and the verses coincide with the chorus (not several unrelated topics within a song). The track “Dreams & Nightmares” is based upon the first 1:35 is a Dream and the Nightmare starts at 1:36 throughout the remainder of the song. “Traumatized” is the best song on the album to me followed by “Rich & Famous”. I give the album 4/5 stars comfortably. So after the DreamChaser mixtapes I kinda knew what to expect. I think people should purchase the album and support it, rather than bootlegging it.

    • Bootlegging is so real and it won’t be stopped!! Haha

      But anywho, I guess if I went into it with the same mind frame you did, I would’ve enjoyed it more. I feel like albums should have a different feel than mixtapes. I enjoy being challenged a bit while listening to an album, I felt this to be pretty basic. And honestly, I didn’t feel like there was anything special about this project. In retrospect though, “Traumatized” has moved up on my list of standout tracks. Other than that though, I’m still bored by this project.

Leave a Reply

