RADIO WORLD: Kendrick Lamar Interview on DJ Whoo Kid + Photos and Footage from Chicago Concert

Since I first came across Kendrick Lamar (1/4 of the Black Hippy Movement), I thought he was booooring. I felt like in this era, you have to buy into the artist’s personality as much as their music to really be a fan. And Kendrick‘s personality was like watching paint dry. And then you press play on his projects and his features and realize that he expresses himself best on a track. And I swear, since that first interview I caught a couple months ago, I’ve noticed he’s opened up way more. Check his interview with DJ Whoo Kid where he talks about his fans, his music, and starting trends. Check it.

He’s so much more likable after watching this. And it’s so funny to me how “Swimming Pools (Drank)” has become a drinkers anthem when it’s really a cautionary tale.  I also had the pleasure of attending Kendrick‘s concert last night. He brought out Lupe Fiasco. Check out my cellphone picture and official footage of that moment below.

 

His new album good kid, M.A.A.D. city drops October 22, 2012. I will be copping.

About traysay8

Quirky.

Posted on September 24, 2012, in CONCERTS, INTERVIEWS, music, PERFORMANCES, videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

