MUSIC WORLD: My Track-by-Track Review of “Cruel Summer” + Download Link

Yeah, it leaked. Are we surprised though? I’m actually surprised by how unimpressive the project is as a whole. The internet was abuzz after the G.O.O.D. Music collaboration album, Cruel Summer, leaked almost a week before release. The conglomorate only provided 12 tracks to be judged by. It features the expected contributors: Kanye West, Big Sean, Pusha T, Common, CyHi Da Prince, Common, John Legend, Teyana Taylor, 2 Chainz, and Kid Cudi. There were a few surprises with features from R. Kelly, Raekwon, and Mase, to name a few. Maybe Kanye is a victim to his own hype. But check my track-by-track review of the album below.

1. “To the World” – Kanye West x R. Kelly: why did it take so long to get these two on a track together? Egos, perhaps? The overwhelming consensus of the song is that it sucks. I don’t think it’s that terrible though. I kinda like the whole, “Fuck You” attitude of the song. I’m not sure about the “Lil’ Drummer Boy” beat drops and the random ass appearance of Teyana Taylor. As a whole though, the song is full of typical Kanye West one-liners. Appreciate it for that, at least.

Editor’s Note: You’ll quickly see I’m not the biggest fan of Little Miss Taylor. Carry on 

2. “Clique” – Kanye West x Jay-Z x Big Sean: Jay-Z proves why he’s still the best at what he does (see: his entire catalogue).  Big Sean provides a good verse and an annoying hook (see: “Ass”). Kanye West’s girlfriend is a superstar all from a home movie (see: Kim Kardashian). But we all knew this right? Cool song bros.

3. “Mercy” –  Kanye West x Big Sean x Pusha T x 2 Chainz: Niggas still hating on Big Sean. I don’t get it, I think he’s proven himself. Anywaydoe, “Mercy” was good the first time I heard it and it’s still good now. It’s one of those rare songs that gets played incessantly and I’m still not sick of it. Stellar and memorable verses from all parties involved. And it flows nicely following “Clique” and introducing “New God Flow.” Loved this video though.

4. “New God Flow” – Pusha T x Kanye West: this clearly a Pusha T song. And remember when Kanye said he wanted to make stadium music? Well it’s really apparent on this track. That whole call-and-response is so “concert ready.” On the radio though? It doesn’t really translate. Aside from that, Pusha T proves why he’s an asset to G.O.O.D. Music, again.

“I think it’s good that ‘Ye got a blow dealer/ A hot temper, matched with a cold killer/ I came aboard for more than to just ride with him/ Think ’99 when Puff would’ve had Shyne with him.”

5. “The Morning” – Pusha T x Common x CyHi Da Prynce x Kid Cudi x D’banj x Raekwon x 2 Chainz: Whew that’s a long list of features! It’s also the first time we hear CyHi, Common, and Kid Cudi on the entire project. Production is great. The sample is great. And Raekwon opens the track with his typical “I’m-from-New-York-so-I-gotta-spit-on-the-mic” flow. Then Common and Pusha T deliver. 2 Chainz is forgettable. Aw shit, a beat change! How surprising! (read: sarcasm). Kanye spits sounding like he recorded this in the backseat of his Maybach. This track is just… blah.

6. “Cold” – Kanye West x DJ Khaled: I liked it when it dropped as a single. I still like it now. Honestly one of the strongest tracks on the album. It flows nicely from the snoozefest that is “The Morning.” Moving along.

7. “Higher” – Pusha T x Mase x The Dream: The Dream has been delighting me recently. Love “Dope Bitch” and “Extremely Blessed.” He and Pusha T reunite and for a head nod song. Then Mase shows up. I’m confused by Mase, forreal. Did he always sound prepubescent when he rapped? Or is my memory just fucked up? But he could’ve kept that verse. Is he still preaching? Yeah, go back there. Moment of silence for that mu’fucka.

8. “Sin City” – John Legend x Teyana Taylor x CyHi Da Prynce x Malik Yusef x Travis Scott: If Teyana sticks to singing hooks and they sound like this, I may reconsider my petition to get her dropped from G.O.O.D. Music. CyHi though… I have so much hope. I just don’t see how he aligns with the team. He’s like the forgotten bald headed step child. .

“She rode a broom on the sand, that’s a sand-WITCH.”

What yo? Go back to the Ivy League. Malik Yusef gets more love B. We’re 8 tracks in and no album track has been awe inspiring.

9. “The One” – Kanye West x Big Sean x 2 Chainz x Marsha Ambrosius: Here goes “Lil Drummer Boy” again. But the always angelic Marsha Ambrosius sings Teyana Taylor under the table. Love the featured artists of the track. They don’t disappoint either. Kanye references Scott Disick and shit. He’s officially a Kardashian. I love how Big Sean is always putting on for his city. Then this year’s comeback kid, 2 Chainz, lays his typical punchline flow while expressing how far he’s come. Nice.

10. “Creepers” – Kid Cudi: the only artist to get his own track on the entire project. If you’re surprised, you shouldn’t be. Kanye has put his full energy and endorsements behind Kid Cudi. I feel like he’s almost like Kanye’s cooler, younger brother. All that aside, if you like Kid Cudi, you’ll like this track. If you don’t, you probably won’t. I fux with it.

11. “Bliss” – John Legend x Teyana Taylor: damn, she’s back. This time she ruins a perfectly good John Legend track. Remember how some genius got rid of Rick Ross and Dr. Dre’s verses from “3 Kings” and presented a Jay-Z only track with just his verse and named it “1 King?” Yeah, I need that. And I need new John Legend music. Stat.

12. “I Don’t Like (Remix)” – Kanye West x Pusha T x Chief Keef x Big Sean x Jadakiss: This is the song in which we learned that lesbians aren’t legit unless they use a strap on. Kanye doesn’t like that. We learned that Chief Keef got tatts on his arm because that’s life. Big Sean is high class, but surrounded my lowlifes. Jadakiss doesn’t like running out of work. And that’s our lesson for today, boys and girls.

So my overall impression of the album? 3/5 stars. And that may just because I rock with Kanye so hard cuz I don’t honestly see myself adding any of the album cuts to my regular rotation.

Give us 5 more tracks. Sprinkle in a little more Common. And delete all Teyana Taylor contributions. As far as collaboration albums, MMG’s Self Made Vol. 2 boo-boo’d all over this. Don’t believe me, play them back to back and compare. What do you think though?

If you still want to download it, you can cop it HERE. 


About traysay8


Posted on September 14, 2012, in ALBUM REVIEWS, music, NEW MUSIC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: