MUSIC WORLD: My Take on Elle Varner’s “Perfectly Imperfect”

Elle Varner is best known for her infectious (or annoying) song “Refill” which served as her follow-up to her debut single, “Only Wanna Give It To You” featuring J. Cole. Despite the radio’s inscessent need to replay “Refill” ad nauseam, I still really liked the song. It was fresh and catchy. I especially appreciated the raspiness of Elle Varner’s voice. So I pressed play on Perfectly Imperfect.

I first downloaded Elle Varner‘s mixtape “Conversational Lush” and found it to be good, but not anything that I went back to listen to. In stark contrast, Perfectly Imperfect has been replayed multiple times since I first listened all the way through. This album feels vintage and fresh at the same damn time. With R&B so focused on sounding either uber hip-hop or crossover ready with Euro dance influences, this album is a great reminder of what R&B can truly be.

With only 11 tracks, I was left wanting to hear more from this freshman artist. I wasn’t sure if she was responsible for the majority of her writing, but via Twitter (the best place next to Google to get an instant answer), I received confirmation that she does indeed write her own music. And you can tell. As a young woman, I relate to the experiences she shares with her listeners.

My overall conclusion: 8/10. Elle Varner uses her voice as an instrument inflecting feelings through notes and pauses. Her songs reflect where most 20-something women find themselves. She discusses accepting her body, finding love, making love, partying, and self-reflection. But she doesn’t sound sad, she sounds aware. This album has set Elle Varner up to be around for a while without depending on what’s hot to sell her sound.

It’s hard to pick standout tracks, but my first mind tells me the following: Not Tonight, Sound Proof Room, Damn Good Friends.

Wanna hear for yourself? You can listen on Spotify, buy via iTunes, or download HERE. Enjoy!

About traysay8

Quirky.

Posted on August 8, 2012, in ALBUM REVIEWS, music, NEW MUSIC and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

