MUSIC WORLD: My Review of The Frank Ocean and The Fabolous Concerts

I’ve had the pleasure of attending two concerts in two days in my new commitment to really take advantage of all the performances here in Chicago. Last week Thursday, I attended Fabolous‘ #FabSony event sponsored by Complex Magazine and Sony. It was held at Park West.

Chance the Rapper served as the first act and he was so charismatic and had the whole crowd dancing to his hit song “Juke Juke.” He was followed my Lil’ Reese, an affiliate of Chief Keef. He was wack. Rockie Fresh, the newest signee to MMG, served as the last opening act. He performed tracks from his critically-acclaimed “Driving 88” mixtape as well as two new tracks. Then Fab took the stage. Check some footage below.

All in all, it was a great concert. And it was FREE!! I almost forgot how many hits Fabolous has. I really enjoyed Park West, as a venue as well. There was a mix of standing room and seated options, which was great.

The next day, I attended the Frank Ocean concert at The Metro, which is quickly becoming one of my favorite places to watch live performances. The anticipation I had for this concert was unreal. Combining the release of his new album channelORANGE and the tickets selling out in 15 minutes, I knew the show was going to be great.

All in all, I wish he would’ve been on stage a little bit longer. He performed, flawlessly, for a little over an hour. He danced around, included personal narratives, and even did a slight wardrobe change. He confessed to the audience that he was battling a cold (which also caused him to cancel his Detroit show), but still belted out everyone’s favorite tunes. He closed the show with “Pyramids.” Check his performance of “Super Rich Kids” with my background vocals.

Frank Ocean did not disappoint. I wouldn’t mind seeing him again for a full-length concert. Next concert I’ll be reviewing is the 2 Chainz concert in September. Truuuu!

About traysay8

Quirky.

Posted on August 7, 2012, in CONCERTS, music, PERFORMANCES, videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Welcome back! I know what you mean about the bills for eating out. As old rieertd folks we do it probably more than we should. For the last two years in a row our eating out budget was higher than anything else in the mix other than income tax. I can’t do much about reducing income tax but guess we could reduce the eating out one. Na, we enjoy it and it does reduce the food budget for money spent in the grocery store so there is some good there, too.

Leave a Reply

