TV WORLD: True Blood: Season 3, Season Finale

Two weeks seemed like forever two weeks ago when the second to last episode of True Blood aired. How would they close out a season of (mostly) solid episodes and tie all of the story lines together? The answer resulted in one of the worst season finales I’ve seen on television in a long time. Alan Ball’s message to the fans at the end of the episode illustrated what was evident to anyone who watched it from beginning to end: this was a lazy way of introducing the fourth season. But let’s go back to the start of what was the most boring hour TB has offered.

  • Eric didn’t die, which wasn’t surprising. Listening to Godric’s ghost (??) try and reason with Eric to forgive Russell and move on seemed unnecessary. The (former) king is crazy and Eric’s waited far too long for his revenge, there was just no way he was going to let that go.
  • Sookie saved the day with her power and proved that while she may be tapping into her fae side, she’s losing herself in every other way. Pouring Talbot’s remains out (and the cackle that followed) was just completely out of character. Maybe Ball wanted to show how far Sookie had been pushed, but it just didn’t work for me. I miss the days when Sookie wasn’t so gullible and had a personality outside of whatever drama Bill and Eric involved her in. Maybe Alcide will be what she needs to get back on track, but something tells me her love life will only get more complicated and normal just isn’t something that’s in the cards for dear Sookie.
  • Sam came out as a shape-shifter, which proved to be just too much for the usually unstable Tara. When she reached for those bloody scissors, I was positive we would see a suicide attempt that would eventually lead to her becoming a vampire. We didn’t. And the last shot of Tara was her leaving Bon Temps. Unless she’s planning on returning with some resemblance of a tolerable personality, I don’t really care if she comes back. (Off topic, but how is that throughout the course of the season these two women STILL haven’t cleaned the house after the Maryanne debacle?!)
  • Jason’s storyline with Crystal and the Hot Shot community had absolutely nothing to do with anything else going on in the TB universe. It seems like the more they give him to do (become a cop, date Crystal and save damsels in distress) the less he fits.
  • Hoyt and Jessica may have ended the season on a happy note, but that creepy doll in their new home and Hoyt’s crazy mother purchasing that rifle symbolizes that things won’t be smooth for them next season. That wasn’t so much a cliffhanger as very, very obvious.
  • Jesus is a witch and Lafayette sees visions of what people are experiencing and how they feel about it. This meant absolutely nothing for the finale and (hopefully) everything for next season.
  • Russell will eventually escape from his concrete tomb, but for now I’ll say that Eric had a good idea. He got his revenge and it was poetic. Bill’s foolish attempt at killing Eric ruined what was a pretty good scene. If it would take Russell 100 years to escape and he’d been burned and was chained in silver, what would make him think that Eric would take even a fraction of that time to escape? Bill will not lose the fight against the Queen, but I’m hoping he at minimum gets beat up a little.
  • Sam shot his thieving little brother. Or so we’ve been led to believe in yet another pointless cliffhanger from this finale.
  • Terry is happy and Arlene is in hell. The pregnancy may result in the birth of a demon seed. My theory is that the baby will be fine. I think this storyline was filler and when Arlene does have the baby it won’t be anywhere as bad as she fears.

To say that this finale disappointed me is a gross understatement. I found it a huge let-down and the entire episode would have served well as the season four opener. I will forgive Ball for this season in the hopes that he just needed a way to introduce characters and plots that will bring TB back stronger next season. Hopefully by the time next summer rolls around I will have forgiven this show for a spectacularly bland and boring close to the summer. Fortunately there were a few quips and quotes to make this episode not a complete fail. Enjoy and on the upside, at least the wait until next season won’t be as difficult as it was when season two closed out with such a bang.

Lafayette: You’re a witch, who’s a nurse, and a dude? How did I get so lucky?

Eric: If you two are done eye-fucking each other, can we go?

Alcide: Are you in trouble again?
Sookie: When am I not in trouble?

Jason: Sometimes the right thing to do is the wrong thing. I know I did the right thing.

About nicolewritenow

Television is my anti-drug. My viewing preferences are non-discriminatory, which means I'm just as likely to watch Wizards of Waverly Place and Shameless as I am to have Big Brother, Degrassi, The Big C and True Blood all patiently waiting for me on my DVR (I'm sure there's a connection lurking somewhere in there). Also...I've never seen Lost, Grey's Anatomy or Mad Men....I will never apologize for watching Jersey Shore....I think Kath and Kim, the Riches, What About Brian, Dirt, Life As We Know It, Tru Calling and the Event were all cancelled long before their time. I like my rom-coms with less than neat endings (i.e. 500 Days of Summer). I will see anything with Vince Vaughn and Jason Bateman. I've never paid to see a Tyler Perry Production.

Posted on September 14, 2010, in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

