TV WORLD: True Blood: Season 3, Episode 8

When I missed recapping last week’s True Blood, I foolishly believed that it was because I had a hectic week. However, I clearly missed the recap because this episode was so good, that I needed a full two weeks to prepare. To loosely quote my friend Will (my true blue and fellow True Blood enthusiast) this episode had “plot progression, long lost (hot) cousins, Hotshot getting in the action, gay vamp sex and girl fights,” none of which  even make up all the episode had to offer.

  • Sookie’s scream served as the opener this week, kicking off chaos in a very tiny hospital room.
  • Is it me or did Rutina Wesley (Tara) start using a different acting coach this season? Based on Tara’s over-the-top dramatics and ability to whimper in any given scene, Wesley is definitely trying to win an Emmy this season.
  • Bill has really owned the martyr role. Watching the “break-up” between him and Sookie really pushed this over the top. He loves her, but he’s not good for her. She loves him, but she can’t really trust him. It’s so tragic and almost makes me want to join Team Bill again. Almost.
  • Talbot and Russell were so cute. I loved how prissy Talbot was and although his demise wasn’t all that unexpected if you’ve been paying attention to Eric’s obvious desire for revenge, it was still sad to see this couple torn apart. Russell doesn’t seem like he’ll be forgiving this any time soon, so watching him extract his own revenge should be interesting.
  • Terry and Arlene were finally onscreen for longer than 60 seconds and didn’t annoy me. I loved Renee’s (far too brief) cameo and what it will mean for this otherwise uninteresting pregnancy plot. I think this was a hint that the paternity won’t be the only mystery these two will have to deal with this season.
  • Jessica has been lost without Bill. Bill has just been lost. Finally seeing these two connect was mushy and something both obviously needed. The sparring was functional and fun to watch. I was a little nervous they were going to cross pass father/daughter and into accidental lovers territory, which would have done nothing for either character.
  • I think that Lafayette is the best written character on the show. He manages to be masculine while wearing eye shadow and comforting while cursing someone out. They also did a great job with his mother and Jesus. Both bring out previously underutilized parts of Lafayette’s personality. And I may be mesmerized by his eyes, but I think that Jesus will be good for him.
  • I do not like Crystal. I do not trust Crystal. I blame this on Jason. He has the uncanny ability (only rivaled by Tara) to mindlessly walk into the dumbest predicaments. I like their chemistry but I think Crystal is a trap for Jason. Her problems have become his and given that they could smell that Sam is a shifter, I’m positive they are not human.
  • After watching Sam and company all season I kept wondering what their purpose was and in this episode it became clear: he needed a brother and someone to look after since Tara isn’t available. I think they could’ve given him a brother with a lot less time and effort, but now that I realize that was the purpose, I’ll forgive them for an otherwise unnecessary storyline.
  • The girl fight was pretty epic. Vamp blood made Sookie and were Debbie evenly matched. I wanted Alcide or Eric to join into the festivities, but Sookie didn’t need them. I also wanted Debbie to die, but Sookie didn’t want that. This means she will be back, unfortunately.
  • There was a lot of almost sex, full-on sex and dream sex towards the end of the episode: Tara and Franklin (dream), Jesus and Lafayette (almost), Talbot and Eric (post?) and lastly the pièce de résistance Sookie and Bill (full-on).I was left speechless and with an urge to rewind…which I did…a few times.

From start to finish, this episode was  solid. I never realized two men playing chess could look so enticing or that watching Hoyt cry could be so heartbreaking. This was definitely the turning point of the season for me. Not only did it move along some of the slower plots (Arlene and Terry), but it gave some of my favorite characters (Eric) new territory to explore. Although Pam-less, here were some of my favorite quotes from this episode:

Talbot: I’m bored. Take off your clothes.
Eric: A little privacy?

Arlene: That’s Tara. She’s all bark and, well, she bites, too.

Russell: Poor Talbot. Are your diamond slippers chafing?

About nicolewritenow

Television is my anti-drug. My viewing preferences are non-discriminatory, which means I'm just as likely to watch Wizards of Waverly Place and Shameless as I am to have Big Brother, Degrassi, The Big C and True Blood all patiently waiting for me on my DVR (I'm sure there's a connection lurking somewhere in there). Also...I've never seen Lost, Grey's Anatomy or Mad Men....I will never apologize for watching Jersey Shore....I think Kath and Kim, the Riches, What About Brian, Dirt, Life As We Know It, Tru Calling and the Event were all cancelled long before their time. I like my rom-coms with less than neat endings (i.e. 500 Days of Summer). I will see anything with Vince Vaughn and Jason Bateman. I've never paid to see a Tyler Perry Production.

Posted on August 9, 2010, in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

