TV WORLD: True Blood: Season 3, Episode 6

I was  a little late watching this week’s True Blood, so when I heard everyone’s take on this being one of the best episodes of the season, I was a little skeptical. Fortunately, this week’s episode was as good if not better than last week’s.

  • Sookie further proved that even if she knows a man has feelings for her, she will ignore the context of what he’s saying and still almost instantly believe him when he says he doesn’t care about her (last week was Bill and this week was Eric).
  • Russell is a tiny little man, but his presence (both as a vampire and king) is huge. It was understandable that Sookie thought her demands and questioning would have any weight with him, because you almost forget that he’s inherently evil. But as Bill and later Sookie learned, he is not really the type you want to toy with. I like that he wants to know what Sookie is, because I’m hoping at some point they’ll explain it.
  • Speaking of Bill…his scenes with Lorena were full of torture and passion (if you count her obsession and his disdain as passion), but somehow they ended up being the most boring scenes of the episode. Until it’s believable that she’s going to kill him, it just seems like they’re in a perpetual holding pattern.
  • I still don’t know how to feel about Crystal, but after seeing the look of absolute heartbreak on Jason’s face when she followed up their night of not-quite sex by pretending she had no clue who he was and berating him in front of her finance, I don’t much care for her. I believe she will be trouble for Jason.
  • Jesus perfected the art of flirting and as a potential couple, Jesus and Lafayette are perfecting the art of the buildup. I really want them to get together. I think Jesus can understand Lafayette, once he gets over the whole “drug dealer” thing of course.
  • Kudos to Tara this week for coming up with a plan all on her own. Although I didn’t enjoy watching her devour Franklin’s neck or beating his head in until it looked like a deflated basketball, I was glad she did something less passive than her usual plan of action (aka wait for someone else to fix the mess that is her life). Hopefully Alcide showing up means she’ll actually get away this time, but I’m not getting too attached to that idea.
  • Sam has been really removed from the rest of the characters this season while he’s been getting acquainted with his family, which I found pointless considering how the rest of the plots had the potential to converge. But I believe this drama with Tommy may make things interesting.
  • Arlene and Jessica were paired up in this episode, which didn’t do much to make either of them more interesting, but it did provide a very brief moment of humor.

The writers chose not to feature certain characters this week. Which means I was forced to miss Pam’s presence and celebrate the absence of Hoyt and Terry. There weren’t any unnecessary flashbacks. All in all, TB delivered another solid episode with a great set up for next week. Here were a few quotables I enjoyed:

Eric: Please don’t take this wrong way Sookie, but shut up.

Russell: Bill has been Lorena’s drug of choice for centuries; it will be tough for her to break it.

Jason: Here’s the difference between you and me…Something about you is wrong and when I find out what that is I’m gonna fuck you up, pretty boy.

About nicolewritenow

Television is my anti-drug. My viewing preferences are non-discriminatory, which means I'm just as likely to watch Wizards of Waverly Place and Shameless as I am to have Big Brother, Degrassi, The Big C and True Blood all patiently waiting for me on my DVR (I'm sure there's a connection lurking somewhere in there). Also...I've never seen Lost, Grey's Anatomy or Mad Men....I will never apologize for watching Jersey Shore....I think Kath and Kim, the Riches, What About Brian, Dirt, Life As We Know It, Tru Calling and the Event were all cancelled long before their time. I like my rom-coms with less than neat endings (i.e. 500 Days of Summer). I will see anything with Vince Vaughn and Jason Bateman. I've never paid to see a Tyler Perry Production.

Posted on July 26, 2010, in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I was proud of Tara too! She’s always been the most victimized and vulnerable character on the show, so I was glad she made some moves on her own. I’m still interested to see what the result of killing Franklin will be… if she killed him. I have reason to believe his life is not over. Not sure why, just an inkling.

    And I can’t wait for Eric to exact his revenge on Russell. The buildup is momentous. Hopefully we’ll really get somewhere next episode.

Leave a Reply

