TV WORLD: Entourage: Season 7, Episode 2

Entourage is trying a new spin on their typical format. Vince still needs his entourage to keep him sane/amused/grounded and they are still continuing to grow into their own. But instead of him relying on them entirely this episode, we saw a new Vince…in more ways than one.

  • Maybe it’s an early mid-life or even mid-career crisis, but Vince is going through something. I like the new look and I’m enjoying how spontaneous he’s being, but the undertone still feels slightly desperate. He seems like a rebellious teen and whether it’s attention he wants or just a good time, I think the next few episodes will show some insight into the Vinny Chase persona that we haven’t seen in previous seasons.
  • Johnny Drama…I take it the writers still don’t know what to do with this character huh? I hate Vince demanding that Eric help Johnny find a good script. And I REALLY hate how pitiful it made Johnny look. I can’t keep stressing this enough…Johnny just can not win!
  • Turtle is slowing turning into my favorite character. He’s attractive and has definitely become one of the more mature members of the entourage in the past two seasons. I want him to get the girl, get the business and continue to grow, but at the same time continue being loyal to Vince and providing the doses of humor Entourage can lack sometimes.
  • Ari has always been faithful to the (increasingly boring) Mrs. Ari Gold, but I think last season’s home wrecker Lizzie Grant is going to cause a few problems for the otherwise happy couple. And I’m going to need Mrs. Ari to get a job or a hobby or something that keeps her busy. Nagging housewife just isn’t attractive on her.
  • Where was Lloyd?? I know he’s an agent now, but he was barely in this episode and it was apparent in all of the scenes with Ari at the office.

This episode was definitely filler, but I have faith that it was a set-up better things to come.  With this being (for the most part) Entourage’s last season, the show is going to need to hit its stride quickly if they want to end on a good note.

About nicolewritenow

Television is my anti-drug. My viewing preferences are non-discriminatory, which means I'm just as likely to watch Wizards of Waverly Place and Shameless as I am to have Big Brother, Degrassi, The Big C and True Blood all patiently waiting for me on my DVR (I'm sure there's a connection lurking somewhere in there). Also...I've never seen Lost, Grey's Anatomy or Mad Men....I will never apologize for watching Jersey Shore....I think Kath and Kim, the Riches, What About Brian, Dirt, Life As We Know It, Tru Calling and the Event were all cancelled long before their time. I like my rom-coms with less than neat endings (i.e. 500 Days of Summer). I will see anything with Vince Vaughn and Jason Bateman. I've never paid to see a Tyler Perry Production.

Posted on July 12, 2010, in TV. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

