TV WORLD: Entourage: Season 7, Episode 1

*Editor’s Note: Nicole will also be handling Entourage recaps in addition to her excellent True Blood contributions.*

Entourage kicked off last night and as much as I disliked last season, I was still excited to see my boys again. If you haven’t watched the last six seasons, you need to catch-up. Fortunately, this isn’t one of those “Lost” type shows where you’ll have missed anything significant. Every season is usually a fresh start. And three months later we found that…Turtle actually has legit and stable income, Eric and Sloan are still together, Ari Gold is still my favorite asshole, Johnny Drama has been in the business for years and he STILL doesn’t have a career, and last, Vince may be the lead but he is still the most overrated character on the show.

A few things that I noticed:

  • The music guy, whoever he may be, was lacking last season. I’ll credit that to stress or family issue or whatever, because for all intents and purposes, he is back.
  • Drama just CAN NOT WIN. He can’t stay on a hit show, he can’t get a movie deal, and all of this was loveable at first, but I’m starting to get annoyed. If you’re not going to give him a career, please dear writers, give him SOMETHING to do besides follow Vince around and spout lame advice.
  • The more power Ari gets, the nicer he is to Eric. I like that. He’s like the older brother/mentor type that Eric always needed to be a good manager.
  • I don’t know what Turtle was doing these last few months, but starting a pretty girl chauffeur service looks good, fuck that, GREAT on him. Jamie Lynn may be long gone, but the maturity she inspired him in hasn’t, which after watching Turtle be just as pitiful as Drama all these years, is refreshing.
  • Ari and Mrs. Ari are my favorite couple. She is his soft spot.
  • I knew, I knew, I KNEW when I saw Vince was really going to go through with doing his own stunts that it wasn’t going to end well. I’m glad he didn’t get seriously hurt or anything, but the look on his face when he got out that car let me know that there’s going to be residual problems with that one.
  • Dania Ramirez is gorgeous. But I can already tell her character is going to do something to Turtle that’s going to piss me off.

If I remember my Entourage history correctly, a good first episode doesn’t mean much. This season can still go either way. I’m hoping that they learned from last season, which lacked direction and (I have to mention this again) that lazy soundtrack. Although, with (the mystery music guy) paying homage to Guru during the end credits, I’m hoping I have nothing to worry about.

-Nicole

About traysay8

Quirky.

Posted on June 28, 2010, in Reviews, TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

