TV WORLD: BET Awards Performances

Was it just me, or have the BET Awards REALLY stepped their game up this year?? I found the awards to be an excellent representation of Black music through the generations. Besides the sound issues and heavy censoring, I was pretty pleased with the performances as a whole. I already posted on Chris Brown‘s EXCELLENT Michael Jackson tribute, but here are the rest of the performances, in no particular order.

Kanye West opened the show with “Power,” a mountain, and HUGE chain. Check his performance below.

This was Kanye‘s return after the whole Taylor Swift debacle. Did it live up to the hype??

P.S. That wasn’t a Jesus piece like everyone thought. Kanye was actually rocking a charm dedicated to the Egyptian God of the Sky, Horace.

Drake performed a little medley of “Fireworks” (oddly without the present Alicia Keys), “Over” and  brought out Jeezy to surprise the crowd with a remix verse on Jeezy‘s “Loose My Mind.” Check the performance and a download link of the new track below.

“Loose My Mind (Remix)” – Jeezy x Drake

His performance skills have definitely improved tenfold.

Diddy-Dirty Money presented a 4th of July type performance as usual. It included Diddy‘s verse on “Oh Let’s Do It” and all versions of “Hello Good Morning” including Rick Ross, T.I., and Nicki Minaj in a body suit. Check it.

That smoke machine was in overdrive. I didn’t even know Waka Flaka Flame was on stage in the smoke.

Keyshia Cole made an appearance performing Haley Williams‘ portion of “Airplanes Pt. 2” with B.o.B. and Eminem jumping in and adding  his latest single. Check it below.

Keyshia Cole was NOT a good choice for this track. If you’ve heard the orginal, she was very odd, but it was nice to see her and her 130 degree bangs.

This performance was slated to be Alicia Keys’ last television performance before the birth of her baby. A 6 month pregnant Alicia Keys hit the stage in sky high pumps and a mini dress to perform a medley of “No One,” “Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart,” “If I Ain’t Got You” featuring Kim Burrell, and “Unthinkable.” Check it.

Home-wrecking aside, Alicia Keys definitely knows how to put on a show. Her outfit choices still remain meh to me though.

Usher redeemed himself with his performance of “There Goes My Baby.” Check it.

I thought he was gonna break out into “OMG” at some point. It was good performance for him.

In more R&B news, Trey Songz appeared on stage to perform his hit “Yo Side of the Bed” and broke out into a pretty weak rendition of “Purple Rain.” Guess he didn’t get the memo that Miss Patti LaBelle would be performing the same song a little later in the show. Check his performance below.

T.I. and Travis Barker came out and performed “Yeah You Know (Takers)” instead of “I’m Back” for some odd reason.

Nothing spectacular besides Travis Barker. “I’m Back” would’ve been sooo much more fitting.

Monica got a little much-deserved stage action featuring surprise guest Deniece Williams. She KILLED “Everything to Me” not missing a note. Deniece Williams came out to perform her hit “Silly” which Monica‘s single samples. Check it.

Both ladies sounded soo awesome!! I wish Monica would’ve gotten a full set though. No comment on those shoulder pads.

Just about everyone in hip-hop came out for the “My Chick Bad” and “All I Do is Win” performance that closed the show. The set featured Ludacris, Nicki Minaj (twice), DJ Khaled, Rick Ross, Busta Rhymes, T-Pain, & Diddy. Check it.

I liked Ludacris‘ opening. DJ Khaled could’ve kept his verse though. And I felt bad for Nicki’s mic troubles. Check her response to the issues she was having with her mic.

And Fabolous also had his own opinion about the performance.

LOL! I wonder what that was about…

Finally, El DeBarge needs to give his publicist and agent mucho moolah for getting him a medley performance AND a music matters feature. He literally came out of nowhere, but he rocked it. Check his performances below.

I couldn’t find his second performance of his new song yet. But as soon as I do, I’ll post it.

Who were your favorite performers of the night?? I think Queen Latifah did great with her opening and themed transitions. I also thoroughly enjoyed Nia Long and Larenz Tate’s revist of Love Jones.

*Editor’s Note: I’m honoring the Prince tribute with a completely separate post.*

About traysay8

Quirky.

Posted on June 28, 2010, in Awards, BET, music, PERFORMANCES, videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

