TV WORLD: BET Awards 2010 – Prince Tribute

If you truly know me, you should not have been surprised by how elated I was when I heard that Prince would be honored at this year’s BET Awards. I even suggested people to help honor Prince Rogers Nelson. Well, only one of mine came true, Alicia Keys. But check his tribute below.

The intro video starred Stevie Wonder, but it has yet to surface on the internet yet. As soon as it does, expect an update. In the meantime…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Janelle Monae was a perfect choice for “Let’s Go Crazy.” She did a great job! I had never heard of Esperanza Spalding before last night. I enjoyed her reindition of “If I Was Your Girlfriend Though.” The scene stealer was Alicia Keys performing “Adore” six months fully pregnant rolling on top of the piano. Prince‘s face was hilarious!! And I am the only that caught her dropping the f-bomb?? I loved it though! Then Miss Patti LaBelle came out singing “Purple Rain” putting Trey Songz’s earlier version to shame. She kicked off her shoes like only she can and Prince made sure to catch one.  It was beautiful tribute.

After they performed, Prince took the stage to accept the actual award and displayed his ultimate coolness by stating, “Please be seated. This is too much.”

Game. Blouses.

I was a little salty that he didn’t take the stage. I would’ve loved to hear some “Diamonds & Pearls” or “When Doves Cry.” But a girl can only dream I guess.

About traysay8

Quirky.

Posted on June 28, 2010, in Awards, BET, music, PERFORMANCES, TV, videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

